The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
11:47Astana
11:47Bishkek
11:17Delhi
13:47Beijing
09:47Moscow
10:47Islamabad
10:47Dushanbe
10:47Tashkent
Observer States:
10:17Tehran
08:47Minsk
13:47Ulan-Bator
10:17Kabul
Партнеры по диалогу::
10:17Yerevan
11:17Katmandu
08:47Ankara
12:47Phnom Penh
11:17Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte
Britain Must Take 'Hard-Headed' Approach to China as Beijing to Rise in Global Economy - Rishi Sunak
07.10.2020 17:01

The news comes after the British finance minister said at the event there would be "hard choices" as the government faced the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic and national recession and added it would need to think "creatively" on employment support.

The United Kingdom must take a hard-headed, transactional approach to China, UK Chancellor of the Exchequers Rishi Sunak said in a statement on Monday on the sidelines of his keynote speech on Monday.

“I think with China we also need to be realistic and hard-headed and I’d say probably transactional in our approach to that relationship, rather than being starry-eyed about it. China is going to be a significant feature of the global economy, and only increasing in significance, so it would be wrong to ignore that,” he said at the online Conservative Party annual conference.

Tensions between London and Beijing have skyrocketed over the latter's national security bill in Hong Kong, which UK, US and European officials have criticised as allegedly violating the region's 'one country, two systems' agreement.

Relations soured further as Washington announce the UK and US are expected to sign a deal on artificial intelligence to counter China's rise as a global tech leader, citing concerns over alleged "authoritarianism and repression" in Beijing.

British culture secretary Oliver Dowden also announced in July London would ban Huawei Technologies from building UK telecom networks by 31 December.

British telco operators will also be forced to remove all kit from the Chinese telecoms giant by 2027, and Finnish telecoms provider Nokia is set to replace Huawei in the nation's 5G networks, it was found.

Up to 11m homes and businesses as well as cause Britain to lose its place as the global leader in 5G, costing the economy over £41bn, the Centre for Policy Studies revealed in a report last week.

A further study from research firm Assembly found that the UK will lose roughly £173 in GDP due to its decision.

Source: https://sputniknews.com/uk/202010051080672773-britain-must-take-hard-headed-approach-to-china-as-beijing-to-rise-in-global-economy---rishi-sunak/

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

INFORMATION REPORT on the Meeting of the Council of Heads of State of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation Member States SCO SUMMIT 2020
10.11.2020 16:16
SCO Secretary-General attends SCO Plus inter-party forum
28.10.2020 17:45
China Imposes New Restrictions on US News Outlets in Retaliatory Move Against Washington
27.10.2020 17:06
Chinese Ambassador Urges Canada Not to Grant Asylum to Hong Kong Protesters
19.10.2020 13:32
Chinese Military Says Participation in Army Games to Boost Partnership With Russia
28.08.2020 14:45
India, China, Pakistan Set to Participate in Wargames in Russia Next Month
25.08.2020 16:42
Putin, Berdimuhamedov hold telephone talk
13.05.2020 14:27
SCO Secretary-General meets with President of MODUL University Vienna
12.03.2020 11:51
Erdogan Neglects Relationship With China Pursuing His Own Interests
10.03.2020 16:26
India Attends SCO Working Group on Military Cooperation in Pakistan
25.02.2020 15:12

Comments(0)

Сообщите об орфографической ошибке

Сообщить
Выделенный текст слишком длинный.