The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
07:23Astana
07:23Bishkek
06:53Delhi
09:23Beijing
05:23Moscow
06:23Islamabad
06:23Dushanbe
06:23Tashkent
Observer States:
05:53Tehran
04:23Minsk
09:23Ulan-Bator
05:53Kabul
Партнеры по диалогу::
05:53Yerevan
06:53Katmandu
04:23Ankara
08:23Phnom Penh
06:53Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte

SCO Currencies/Ruble

 
 
Country Code Currency Den. Rate
 
 

The official rate of the Central Bank of Russia

News

22.07.2020 16:18
SCO Secretariat and Pakistani Centre for Global & Strategic Studies hold a webinar
22.07.2020 15:51
SCO Secretary-General takes part in a videoconference on SCO digital economy and e-commerce in COVID-19 environment
21.07.2020 10:58
SCO Secretary-General meets with Swiss ambassador to China
21.07.2020 10:55
Vladimir Norov: “China’s achievements in eliminating poverty have won high recognition from the world community.” Article by SCO Secretary-General for
16.07.2020 11:49
Upcoming webinar on the theme: "SCO: The way to Regional Cooperation and Integrated Development"
16.07.2020 11:44
Meeting of Experts on Preparations for the Meeting of Health Ministers of the SCO Member States
14.07.2020 09:48
Interview by the SCO Secretary-General on the fifth anniversary of the adoption of the SCO Development Strategy Towards 2025
07.07.2020 11:50
SCO Secretary-General’s interview on the occasion of International Day Against Drug Abuse and Illicit Trafficking
06.07.2020 13:03
SCO Secretary-General addresses a special event on the International Day against Drug Abuse and Illicit Trafficking
06.07.2020 13:00
SCO Secretary-General addresses OSCE Security Review Conference
 
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      
Russia's Presidency in SCO SCO Secretariat SCO Business Council The Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure Of SCO SCO Interbank Consortium Expocenter
Will the SCO become an instrument of economic security?
08.06.2018 15:54

The Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) should turn into an effective tool for maintaining economic stability. This was stated by the candidate of economic sciences, deputy chairman of Vnesheconombank (VEB), former Deputy Minister of Economic Development of the Russian Federation Andrei Klepach, speaking at the Second Sochi Forum of Eurasian Integration "Prospects for the Development and Strengthening of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization" on April 17.

"The key task now is to avoid the world's slipping to a new round of trade wars. In this regard, the SCO and the economic partnership that is beginning to form on its basis can become an alternative to what is happening, and a carrier of not only the political security but also an instrument for preserving economic cooperation," Klepach said.

According to him, the world is currently experiencing a period of dynamic changes in the balance of economic forces—Asia is gaining strength and in some sense, returns to the level it possessed in the world economy in the middle of the XIX century. But at the same time, we have to state that the world does not become more secure as a result of the undergoing changes.

"We see this in the political, geopolitical and economic breaks that are taking place in Europe. This sanctioning struggle, which is being waged by the US and the countries they support against Russia, is the elements of a trade war that will now go between the US and China, although I would like to hope that the real scale of the conflict will be less than what is claimed now," he said.

In this context, the SCO has the opportunity not just to coordinate trade policies, infrastructure projects, but also in fact to build a space for economic cooperation in large Eurasia as a whole.

"The SCO could play a leading role in this regard. There are huge spaces of interaction and mutual enrichment with practices of development and solving those issues that exist in each of our countries," Klepach said.

At the same time, the issue of financial systems under the current conditions becomes a particularly acute and "toxic" one.

"This is not the primary reason, but it is also an important incentive for the SCO member states, which account for more than half of the world's gold and currency reserves and a significant portion of financial flows, that they, despite the dominance of the European and American markets, jointly develop a new financial model," explained the economist.

"Certain steps to this were done within the framework of the Asian Bank for Infrastructure Projects, within the framework of the BRICS agreement on the pool of foreign exchange reserves. But in fact, this is only the beginning of the road. The very yuan, which China presents for mutual settlements, does not yet have sufficient liquidity. Therefore, I think that within the framework of the SCO and even outside its framework, on a bilateral basis, we have a great potential for cooperation for settlements in national currencies and for the removal of currency risks," he stressed.

Currently, the SCO member states in the "broad G8" make up about 30% of world GDP. According to IMF forecasts, by 2020 they will be making up about 34-35%. At the same time, according to VEB estimates, by 2025 with this dynamic, the volume of the SCO economies will be equal to a share of 38-40% of world GDP.

The Second Sochi Forum of Eurasian Integration "Prospects for the Development and Strengthening of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization" was held on April 17-18. About 200 representatives of 17 SCO member states, observer countries, and dialogue partners took part in the forum. Experts from a number of other countries related to integration projects in the space of the "Great Eurasia" are also involved in the work of the forum.

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

Putin, Berdimuhamedov hold telephone talk
13.05.2020 14:27
SCO Secretary-General meets with President of MODUL University Vienna
12.03.2020 11:51
Erdogan Neglects Relationship With China Pursuing His Own Interests
10.03.2020 16:26
India Attends SCO Working Group on Military Cooperation in Pakistan
25.02.2020 15:12
Tajik Foreign Minister arrives in Moscow on official visit
25.02.2020 14:22
Iran, Russia review bilateral cooperation in SCO
25.02.2020 13:59
Only 100,000 People Expected on Trump’s Visit Not 7 Million
20.02.2020 16:47
India Not to Revoke Special Status of Northeastern States Bordering China - Home Minister
20.02.2020 16:42
Secretary General of Shanghai Cooperation Organization meets with President of Azerbaijan
14.02.2020 14:29
China-Russia ties to deepen despite US wedge
24.01.2020 11:49

Comments(0)

Сообщите об орфографической ошибке

Сообщить
Выделенный текст слишком длинный.