The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
18:19Astana
18:19Bishkek
17:49Delhi
20:19Beijing
16:19Moscow
17:19Islamabad
17:19Dushanbe
17:19Tashkent
Observer States:
16:49Tehran
15:19Minsk
20:19Ulan-Bator
16:49Kabul
Партнеры по диалогу::
16:49Yerevan
17:49Katmandu
15:19Ankara
19:19Phnom Penh
17:49Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte

SCO Currencies/Ruble

 
 
Country Code Currency Den. Rate
 
 

The official rate of the Central Bank of Russia

News

22.07.2020 16:18
SCO Secretariat and Pakistani Centre for Global & Strategic Studies hold a webinar
22.07.2020 15:51
SCO Secretary-General takes part in a videoconference on SCO digital economy and e-commerce in COVID-19 environment
21.07.2020 10:58
SCO Secretary-General meets with Swiss ambassador to China
21.07.2020 10:55
Vladimir Norov: “China’s achievements in eliminating poverty have won high recognition from the world community.” Article by SCO Secretary-General for
16.07.2020 11:49
Upcoming webinar on the theme: "SCO: The way to Regional Cooperation and Integrated Development"
16.07.2020 11:44
Meeting of Experts on Preparations for the Meeting of Health Ministers of the SCO Member States
14.07.2020 09:48
Interview by the SCO Secretary-General on the fifth anniversary of the adoption of the SCO Development Strategy Towards 2025
07.07.2020 11:50
SCO Secretary-General’s interview on the occasion of International Day Against Drug Abuse and Illicit Trafficking
06.07.2020 13:03
SCO Secretary-General addresses a special event on the International Day against Drug Abuse and Illicit Trafficking
06.07.2020 13:00
SCO Secretary-General addresses OSCE Security Review Conference
 
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      
Russia's Presidency in SCO SCO Secretariat SCO Business Council The Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure Of SCO SCO Interbank Consortium Expocenter
The Convention on the Legal Status of the Caspian Sea: Meaning and Consequences
01.03.2019 11:17

In August 2018, the leaders of Russia, Iran, Azerbaijan, Turkmenistan and Kazakhstan met in Aktau to resolve the issue of the legal status of the Caspian Sea, the world’s largest landlocked body of water.

The experts estimated that 19% of world oil reserves, 45% of world gas reserves, and 90% of sturgeon fish stock are concentrated in the Caspian area. Its natural resources are estimated in enormous amounts of money. The Caspian shelf, rich in oil and gas, according to the Energy Information Administration (the US independent agency, a member of the US federal statistical system, responsible for collection, analysis and release of information about energy and energy industry), contains up to 6.5 billion tons of proven and possible oil reserves and gas in oil equivalent, and 1.5 times more of the undiscovered ones.

Five states, whose shores are washed by the Caspian Sea, have been elaborating the Convention on the Legal Status of the Sea for more than twenty years, we can rightfully call the document historical. 

“Our summit has a truly epochal value,” said the Russian President Vladimir Putin. “The prepared Convention stipulates clear rules for the collective use of the Caspian Sea. A balanced international treaty has been created. It will replace the Soviet-Iranian agreements of 1921 and 1940.” According to the Russian leader, “it is important that the Convention regulates the issues of necessary divisions, shipping and fishing regimes. It fixes the principles of military and political interaction of the member states, and guarantees the use of the Caspian area for peaceful purposes only.”

The heads of five states finally agreed on how to divide the Caspian Sea. There were no particular disputes regarding the borders and territorial waters, as the boundaries were determined long ago. The water area was divided into internal, territorial and fishing waters according to general principles. At the same time, the Caspian water surface has been declared common. The parties decided to consider the Caspian Sea as a kind of inland body of water, a cross between a sea and a lake.

One of the main achievements of Russia and Iran was the fixation of the provision “On Prevention of the Presence of the Armed Forces of Extraregional States in the Caspian Area.” Pursuant to the clauses of the Convention, no NATO bases will appear on the Caspian Sea shores. The President of Iran Hassan Rouhani also noted the ban on sailing across the Caspian Sea for any vessels with flags of the countries not included in the “Caspian Five”.

“The convention guarantees the use of the Caspian area for peaceful purposes only,” confirmed Vladimir Putin. The signed document provides for the possibility to build the Trans-Caspian gas pipeline. Through such a pipeline, Turkmenistan can send export gas to Europe, thus becoming a rival to Russian fuel. Formally, now it is possible, but there is one nuance. A protocol for the projects’ environmental safety assessment was signed in Aktau as well. Pursuant to it, Russia and Iran can prevent the aforementioned.

After signing the document, Vladimir Putin announced the launch of the sea liner “Peter the Great” in 2019, on its board it will for the first time become possible to make cruise trips around the Caspian Sea. In addition, by 2025 it is planned to build a deep-water port near Kaspiysk city in Dagestan. The Russian leader proposed to extend the now existing moratorium on sturgeon fishing for a longer period, since the previous measures did not give much effect in restoring the population.

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

Speech by SCO Secretary General Vladimir Norov at the event "New Arc of Cooperation in Rising Rimland: from Vladivostok to Chennai"
22.01.2020 17:08
Russia and Kazakhstan will save Ural River from pollution
19.04.2019 16:37
Uzbekistan: nano to replace the gas
27.01.2015 14:06
Meeting of the SCO Ministers of Emergency Situations
05.06.2009 11:20
Russia and Kazakhstan Offer Consultations on Conservation of the Ural River Ecosystem
12.05.2009 10:44
How the Ailing Sea is Cured
30.01.2009 09:36
2nd International Ecological Conference
16.01.2009 09:23

Comments(0)

Сообщите об орфографической ошибке

Сообщить
Выделенный текст слишком длинный.