The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
06:30Astana
06:30Bishkek
06:00Delhi
08:30Beijing
04:30Moscow
05:30Islamabad
05:30Dushanbe
05:30Tashkent
Observer States:
05:00Tehran
03:30Minsk
08:30Ulan-Bator
05:00Kabul
Партнеры по диалогу::
05:00Yerevan
06:00Katmandu
03:30Ankara
07:30Phnom Penh
06:00Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte
How the Ailing Sea is Cured
30.01.2009 09:36
Yuri Gorshkov, International Aral Sea Rehabilitation Fund Agency Official

The International Aral Sea Rehabilitation Fund Agency continues to work on implementation of the Aral Sea Basin Program, approved by the heads of Central Asian states. The Aral Sea dried-up seafloor afforestation project in the Aral Sea north coastal zone on the area of 10 thousand hectares comes to completion. In view of importance and necessity of work continuity, feasibility study of another draft program concerning the area of 20 thousand hectares, has begun.

Observations show that in the areas with native drought resistant greenery planted - saxaul, saltwort, tamarisk, saline dust transport level is almost halved every two to three years. The Local Reservoirs Formation on the Amu Darya Delta project has also proved to be good. At present, artificial lakes' total surface area averages 150 thousand hectares. They have had a considerable impact on environment preservation, the region’s biodiversity, regeneration of animal and vegetal life. Reservoirs became a new source of fish products, animal feed, and made people's accommodation more comfortable.

One of the priority tasks of the IFAS Agency is to help the Aral Sea coastal zone population in adapting to market environment, acquiring new professions, establishing their own business, to support first-time entrepreneurs by mini-grants, consultations and advices. Last year, thousands inhabitants of the Republic of Karakalpakstan took part in the project of Social Support for the Aral Sea Coastal Zone Population in Adapting to Market Environment. Experts have developed about 400 schemes, approved and financed 337 of them.

It is well-known what sustainable use of water resources matters for any economy. In this connection, the agency carries out a package of measures to teach people respect and care of water. Water Conservation Contests proved to be good too. They are one of the International Aral Sea Rehabilitation Fund schemes. A cash bonus is stipulated by the project for reduction of water actual consumption without decline in agricultural production. It will be paid by the agency on a competitive basis.

The first results are worth talking about. Last year such a competition was held in Khorezmskaya, Bukharskaya and Navoiyskaya oblasts. 47 business units took part in it, including 21 Water Consumers’ Associations (WCA). Water management and saving are achieved by means of organizational arrangements, reconstruction and installation of simple recording water measurement devices, fields planning, intrafarm land reclamation network maintenance and cleaning, natural organics application concurrently with wetting and so on.

It is noticed that during the competition in some farms 5 to 12% of water is saved over the vegetation period. The first place competition winner in Navoiyskaya oblast, Oston Mirob WCA (Navbakhorsky region) by saving 0.4 million cubic meters of the limit got on an average 55.9 hundreds kilograms of grains per hectare, and 38 hundreds kilograms of cotton per hectare. Water resources saving and management, zero discharge from irrigated lands also allow to significantly improve meliorative state of agricultural lands. Competition winners are rewarded with prizes and presented with corresponding certificates.

Programs and projects on the Aral Sea basin do affect foreign partners, diplomatic representations and international organizations, accredited in Uzbekistan. It is important that there is an understanding that the Aral problem is too large to be solved individually, and too global by its consequences to stand aside from its solving.
  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

Speech by SCO Secretary General Vladimir Norov at the event "New Arc of Cooperation in Rising Rimland: from Vladivostok to Chennai"
22.01.2020 17:08
Russia and Kazakhstan will save Ural River from pollution
19.04.2019 16:37
The Convention on the Legal Status of the Caspian Sea: Meaning and Consequences
01.03.2019 11:17
Uzbekistan: nano to replace the gas
27.01.2015 14:06
Meeting of the SCO Ministers of Emergency Situations
05.06.2009 11:20
Russia and Kazakhstan Offer Consultations on Conservation of the Ural River Ecosystem
12.05.2009 10:44
2nd International Ecological Conference
16.01.2009 09:23

Comments(2)

OMG, вы видите Что происходящих в Сирии? Независимо отжестокого подавления правительством,продолжают демонстрации

Сообщите об орфографической ошибке

Сообщить
Выделенный текст слишком длинный.