The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
12:55Astana
12:55Bishkek
12:25Delhi
14:55Beijing
10:55Moscow
11:55Islamabad
11:55Dushanbe
11:55Tashkent
Observer States:
11:25Tehran
09:55Minsk
14:55Ulan-Bator
11:25Kabul
Партнеры по диалогу::
11:25Yerevan
12:25Katmandu
09:55Ankara
13:55Phnom Penh
12:25Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte
Carrie Lam Says Hong Kong Nat'l Security Law 'Restored Stability', Slams Western 'Double Standards'
07.10.2020 12:04

The speech comes amid an ongoing diplomatic row between Washington and Beijing, leading to tit-for-tat measures, sanctions and bilateral ties sinking to historic lows, media reported on Thursday.

China's national security law has restored peace to Hong Kong, allowing citizens to "again exercise their rights and liberties in accordance with the law", chief executive Carrie Lam said at an annual event on Thursday.

Speaking at an event commemorating China's 71st National Day, Lam urged the region to keep a "safe and stable social environment" as well as follow the 'One country, two systems" agreement inked in 1997, among others.

The past three months had restored stability to Hong Kong and safeguarded national security, allowing citizens to enjoy "basic rights and freedoms in accordance with the law", she added.

"So, no matter how severe some foreign governments, holding 'double-standards', are going to level unjustified accusations against the authorities in charge of implementing the National Security Law, or aggressively imposing further sanctions against HKSAR officials responsible for safeguarding national security, I and my relevant colleagues will continue to discharge our duty to safeguard national security in accordance with the law without fear or anxiety", Lam said in her speech

The speech comes amid tensions with Washington, London and Brussels, who have voiced criticisms over the new security law aimed at cracking down on pro-secessionist protests gripping the region for several years.

Lam slammed opponents of the new security law as "the enemy of the people" and urged them to stop "smearing" efforts to back the legislation, it was reported earlier in June.

Chinese president Xi Jinping also warned in a commemorative speech in early September it was essential to "uphold the leadership" of the Chinese Communist Party, adding individuals or state forces should never "separate the CCP and Chinese people", distort the Party's history, among others.

The Trump administration recently sanctioned numerous officials connected to the bill, stating they had violated Hong Kong's status as a special administrative region, sparking criticism from Beijing and the territory's officials.

Washington has been locked into a contentious trade and tech war with Beijing in a bid to block the nation from rising as the world's tech capital, targeting numerous Chinese tech firms, including Huawei, ZTE, TikTok owner ByteDance and others.

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

Chinese Ambassador Urges Canada Not to Grant Asylum to Hong Kong Protesters
19.10.2020 13:32
Vladimir Norov: Collective efforts needed to fight coronavirus
21.04.2020 09:49
Russia, China Demonstrate 'New Concept of International Security' in Baltic Sea
27.07.2017 17:53
SCO Secretary-General: “The road to peace and prosperity lies in building a safe and stable environment on a vast territory between three oceans, and
29.06.2017 14:25
Rashid Alimov: Leaders of SCO member states in Astana once again called on the world to join efforts in countering today’s challenges and threats
12.06.2017 11:21
What pushes Beijing and Moscow to sign “century-long” energy contracts?
25.10.2014 13:29
Tajikistan Presented Projects of Obtaining Credit by PRC within SCO
13.11.2009 12:32
The SCO Conference Took Place in the Accounts Chamber of the Russian Federation
11.11.2009 16:04
A Conference of the SCO Countries Ministers of Finance and Heads of Central Banks to Take Place in Alma Ata
14.10.2009 16:46
Dmitry Medvedev: Russia will Strengthen Mechanisms of Collaboration within CIS, SCO and BRIC
24.09.2009 09:09

Comments(0)

Сообщите об орфографической ошибке

Сообщить
Выделенный текст слишком длинный.