The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
02:05Astana
02:05Bishkek
01:35Delhi
04:05Beijing
00:05Moscow
01:05Islamabad
01:05Dushanbe
01:05Tashkent
Observer States:
00:35Tehran
23:05Minsk
04:05Ulan-Bator
00:35Kabul
::
00:35Yerevan
01:35Katmandu
23:05Ankara
03:05Phnom Penh
01:35Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte
Russia's Presidency in SCO SCO Secretariat SCO Business Council The Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure Of SCO SCO Interbank Consortium Expocenter
Eastern Economic Forum: SCO takes part
07.09.2017 17:29

On 6-7 September, a SCO Secretariat delegation led bySecretary-General Rashid Alimov is attending the Eastern Economic Forum. The Secretary-General's working programme includes his participation inpanel sessions and discussions dedicated totrade and economic interaction inEurasia and the Asia Pacific Region. He has also had a meeting withprofessors, teachers and students fromthe Far Eastern Federal University.

The SCO's role and place inregional economic cooperation was discussed duringthe panel session Partnership forGreater Eurasia: Expanding a Future-Oriented Joint Development Space. The participants noted the SCO's considerable potential and its unique capacity forbuilding a stable system ofinterstate ties inGreater Eurasia.

The panel session was attended byEEC Trade Minister Veronica Nikishina, Russian Ambassador tothe PRC Andrei Denisov, head ofthe Russian Union ofIndustrialists and Entrepreneurs Alexander Shokhin, aswell asprominent experts and political scientists fromRussia, the United States, the Republic ofKorea, and other APR countries.

In his remarks, Rashid Alimov said that "at the turn ofthe centuries, Eurasia has become a space forlarge-scale processes designing a new system ofinterstate cooperation. Practically all countries inthe region inour day and age are involved invarious projects the nature ofwhich varies fromthe classic forms ofintegration toforming joint specialised multilateral mechanisms toaddress specific tasks. Talks betweenthe EAEU and China, the EAEU and ASEAN countries, progress inimplementing the One Belt, One Road concept, aswell asthe development ofversatile interaction withinthe SCO Eight withthe participation ofthe observer states and SCO dialogue partners are emerging asthe core elements ofthis process," SCO Secretary-General stressed.

Participants atthe session were equally ofthe opinion that pooling the potentials and efforts toproduce a synergic effect would facilitate a long-term, stable, inclusive development ofcountries and peoples inEurasia and the Asia Pacific Region. In this connection, Rashid Alimov stressed that "the Greater Eurasian space could constitute a partnership ofregional states united bythe common ideas ofjoint development. However, its fundamental underpinnings can only be built bymultilateral efforts inthe sphere ofpolitics and security, aswell astrade, economic and cultural interaction betweencountries and peoples inthe region."

Eurasian security topics will be discussed indetail atthe panel session Fostering Cooperation fromLisbon toVladivostok on7 September. The SCO Secretary-General is planning totalk aboutthe SCO's best practices and achievements inthe area ofregional security and stability plus the fight againstinternational terrorism, extremist ideology, drug trafficking and transnational organised crime.

The Eastern Economic Forum was established in2014 byan Executive Order ofthe President Vladimir Putin ofthe Russian Federation. The Forum has the status ofan annual event withthe city ofVladivostok asits permanent venue. The main events onthe EEF programme are held atthe campus ofthe Far Eastern Federal University onRussky Island.

The EEF has emerged asa major international event ofmuch political importance and a prestigious and respected business and communicative platform forthe authorities and the business elite fromstates inthe Asia Pacific Region.

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

About the upcoming webinar: "India - SCO Engagement: The Next Steps"
31.08.2020 16:51
Chinese Military Says Participation in Army Games to Boost Partnership With Russia
28.08.2020 14:45
National Day of the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan: The SCO Secretary-General Vladimir Norov extend well wishes to the President of Afghanistan Ashra
24.08.2020 17:45
About the upcoming webinar: Digital Transformation of Education in the New Normal: Vision & Key Practices from Weidong
24.08.2020 17:39
SCO Secretariat and Pakistani Centre for Global & Strategic Studies hold a webinar
22.07.2020 16:18
SCO Secretary-General takes part in a videoconference on SCO digital economy and e-commerce in COVID-19 environment
22.07.2020 15:51
Exclusive Live Interview of His Excellency Vladimir Norov, Secretary-General, SCO with Center for Global & Strategic Studies (CGSS), Islamabad
22.07.2020 09:52
SCO Secretary-General meets with Swiss ambassador to China
21.07.2020 10:58
Vladimir Norov: Chinas achievements in eliminating poverty have won high recognition from the world community. Article by SCO Secretary-General for
21.07.2020 10:55
Upcoming webinar on the theme: "SCO: The way to Regional Cooperation and Integrated Development"
16.07.2020 11:49

Comments(0)

.