The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
20:56Astana
20:56Bishkek
20:26Delhi
22:56Beijing
18:56Moscow
19:56Islamabad
19:56Dushanbe
19:56Tashkent
Observer States:
19:26Tehran
17:56Minsk
22:56Ulan-Bator
19:26Kabul
::
19:26Yerevan
20:26Katmandu
17:56Ankara
21:56Phnom Penh
20:26Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte
Rashid Alimov: Greater interaction between the SCO and UNESCO will contribute to the dialogue of cultures and civilizations. The SCO Secretary-Gener
20.09.2017 13:21

SCO Secretary-General Rashid Alimov had a meeting withDirector-General ofUNESCO Irina Bokova atthe UNESCO office inNew York City.

They discussed cooperation prospects betweenthe SCO and UNESCO inthe cultural, humanitarian and education areas.

In view ofthe SCO's solid foundation forstrengthening mutual understanding, bringing cultures closer together and their mutual enrichment, aswell asspreading information and knowledge abouttraditions and customs ofthe peoples inthe SCO countries, systematic joint efforts withUNESCO are regarded asa key element indeveloping and enhancing relations betweenthe SCO and the specialised agencies ofUNESCO.

"The Shanghai Cooperation Organisation highly values UNESCO's unique contribution tothe coordination ofinternational cooperation ineducation, science, culture and communication. UNESCO also plays a major role inestablishing close civilisational contacts betweenpeoples," SCO Secretary-General Rashid Alimov said.

"The SCO's active efforts inthe cultural and humanitarian sphere, ineducation, aswell asthe presence ofnumerous cultural heritage objects inthe SCO countries complement the key activities and the UNESCO's mandate which, inturn, makes the SCO a very important and needed partner forus," UNESCO Director-General Irina Bokova said.

The parties agreed tomaintain regular contacts betweenthe two organisations' secretariats forthe purpose ofdeveloping mutually beneficial collaboration.

The conversation was held ina warm and friendly atmosphere.

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

SCO Secretary-General presents certificates to Model SCO winners
24.12.2020 16:13
"Shanghai spirit" provides a solid foundation for solidarity. SCO Secretary-Generals interview on the occasion of International Human Solidarity Day
24.12.2020 16:08
New prospects for SCO cooperation in international law outlined
07.12.2020 17:34
SCO Council of National Coordinators approves package of documents for upcoming SCO Heads of Government Council meeting
01.12.2020 16:56
SCO Secretary-General meets with Ambassador of Pakistan to China
18.11.2020 17:52
The Moscow Declaration of the Council of Heads of State of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation
18.11.2020 17:18
SCO Secretary-General's press conference on the results of the SCO Summit
18.11.2020 17:07
Summit to define SCO's postpandemic era
11.11.2020 14:39
The press conference of the SCO Secretary-General
11.11.2020 14:13
SCO Secretariat presents series of cultural and sports events for 2020-2021
20.10.2020 11:36

Comments(0)

.