The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
05:03Astana
05:03Bishkek
04:33Delhi
07:03Beijing
03:03Moscow
04:03Islamabad
04:03Dushanbe
04:03Tashkent
Observer States:
03:33Tehran
02:03Minsk
07:03Ulan-Bator
03:33Kabul
::
03:33Yerevan
04:33Katmandu
02:03Ankara
06:03Phnom Penh
04:33Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte
SCO Secretary-General meets with CTO Under-Secretary-General
21.09.2017 13:22

On 20 September 2017, SCO Secretary-General Rashid Alimov met withUnder-Secretary-General ofthe UN Counter-Terrorism Office Vladimir Voronkov onthe sidelines ofthe general debate ofthe 72nd session ofthe UN General Assembly atthe UN Headquarters inNew York. The meeting was also attended bySCO Regional Antiterrorist Structure (RATS) Director Yevgeny Sysoyev.

Mr Voronkov noted the SCO's important role inpreserving peace, stability and security inthe region, SCO member states' achievements and initiatives incombating terrorism and extremism, and cooperation ofthe competent agencies inorganising a wide range ofjoint events inthe SCO RATS framework. He also spoke infavour ofexpanding cooperation betweenthe UN and regional organisations inthis area, and called the SCO one ofthe priority agencies forthe new office, taking intoaccount the organisation's geography.

Mr Alimov congratulated Mr Voronkov onhis "high appointment" and expressed his conviction that the Under-Secretary-General's personal contribution "to coordinating the work ofthe new office will be praised bythe UN member states."

The SCO Secretary-General spoke aboutthe results ofcooperation betweenthe SCO member states inantiterrorism, emphasising that "their efforts are aimed atimplementing the UN Global Counter-Terrorism Strategy, and atthe need toimplement all its four pillars ina comprehensive and balanced way." Mr Alimov updated Mr Voronkov onthe results ofthe Astana summit, inparticular, the adoption ofthe Statement bythe SCO Heads ofState onJoint Counteraction toInternational Terrorism and the Convention onCountering Extremism. Mr Alimov noted that "the SCO and its RATS are open fordialogue and cooperation withspecialised organisations and counterterrorism structures," and stressed the importance ofestablishing close contact withthe UN Counter-Terrorism Office asa priority.

The UN Counter-Terrorism Office is a new UN body established byGeneral Assembly resolution 71/291 of15 June 2017, which has wide powers toimplement the UN General Assembly's antiterrorism mandates.

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

About the upcoming webinar: "India - SCO Engagement: The Next Steps"
31.08.2020 16:51
Chinese Military Says Participation in Army Games to Boost Partnership With Russia
28.08.2020 14:45
National Day of the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan: The SCO Secretary-General Vladimir Norov extend well wishes to the President of Afghanistan Ashra
24.08.2020 17:45
About the upcoming webinar: Digital Transformation of Education in the New Normal: Vision & Key Practices from Weidong
24.08.2020 17:39
SCO Secretariat and Pakistani Centre for Global & Strategic Studies hold a webinar
22.07.2020 16:18
SCO Secretary-General takes part in a videoconference on SCO digital economy and e-commerce in COVID-19 environment
22.07.2020 15:51
Exclusive Live Interview of His Excellency Vladimir Norov, Secretary-General, SCO with Center for Global & Strategic Studies (CGSS), Islamabad
22.07.2020 09:52
SCO Secretary-General meets with Swiss ambassador to China
21.07.2020 10:58
Vladimir Norov: Chinas achievements in eliminating poverty have won high recognition from the world community. Article by SCO Secretary-General for
21.07.2020 10:55
Upcoming webinar on the theme: "SCO: The way to Regional Cooperation and Integrated Development"
16.07.2020 11:49

Comments(0)

.