Victor Dubovitskiy, Ph.D. in History The geometry of Eurasian cooperation: to the memory for Evgeny Primakov / SCO Shanghai Cooperation Organization

The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
22:19Astana
22:19Bishkek
21:49Delhi
00:19Beijing
20:19Moscow
21:19Islamabad
21:19Dushanbe
21:19Tashkent
Observer States:
20:49Tehran
19:19Minsk
00:19Ulan-Bator
20:49Kabul
::
20:49Yerevan
21:49Katmandu
19:19Ankara
23:19Phnom Penh
21:49Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte

SCO Currencies/Ruble

 
 
Country Code Currency Den. Rate
 
 

The official rate of the Central Bank of Russia

News

22.07.2020 16:18
SCO Secretariat and Pakistani Centre for Global & Strategic Studies hold a webinar
22.07.2020 15:51
SCO Secretary-General takes part in a videoconference on SCO digital economy and e-commerce in COVID-19 environment
21.07.2020 10:58
SCO Secretary-General meets with Swiss ambassador to China
21.07.2020 10:55
Vladimir Norov: Chinas achievements in eliminating poverty have won high recognition from the world community. Article by SCO Secretary-General for
16.07.2020 11:49
Upcoming webinar on the theme: "SCO: The way to Regional Cooperation and Integrated Development"
16.07.2020 11:44
Meeting of Experts on Preparations for the Meeting of Health Ministers of the SCO Member States
14.07.2020 09:48
Interview by the SCO Secretary-General on the fifth anniversary of the adoption of the SCO Development Strategy Towards 2025
07.07.2020 11:50
SCO Secretary-Generals interview on the occasion of International Day Against Drug Abuse and Illicit Trafficking
06.07.2020 13:03
SCO Secretary-General addresses a special event on the International Day against Drug Abuse and Illicit Trafficking
06.07.2020 13:00
SCO Secretary-General addresses OSCE Security Review Conference
 
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      
The geometry of Eurasian cooperation: to the memory for Evgeny Primakov
28.01.2019 15:19 Victor Dubovitskiy, Ph.D. in History

There were many failed projects of economical and political unions, alliances, and commonwealths that were either wiped out from the foreign relations in a little time, or remained just as a sign, i.e. a source of pride or shame of their creators.

International institutions are much less likely to reach the goals they were intended for and to grow naturally, including new members and expanding the set of their functions. This can happen only if an institution is based on a creative idea. There is an ancient Chinese saying: a journey of a thousand miles begins with one small step. The fruitful cooperation between three Eurasian giants China, Russia and India started form such a small step.

The idea of a continental triple unity, a Moscow Beijing in Delhi axis was introduced twenty years ago by the talented Russian politician, head of the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, academic Evgeny Primakov during an official visit to in Delhi on the December 21, 1998. In his view the strategic cooperation between Moscow and Delhi is strong and based on mutual benefit and quest for stability in the world. India is a great nation. So much depends on Indian and Chinese politics.

In Primakov mind this union was a kind of strategical triangle, not a political or military/political alliance. During this period the features of international relations allowed policy experts to suggest that Russian prime minister established a political triangle due to the common fear of the insubordinate American hegemonists preparing the intervention in Iraq. Later the projects goals were shifted to cooperation in the area of military technology between Russia, China and India.

Since May 2005, the Moscow-Beijing-Delhi union gained the most important feature in Evgeny Primakov model: the annual meetings of the Ministries of Foreign Affairs of each participant. Russian political analysts believe that this was the place where strategic decisions on international joint action were elaborated.

Speaking about this triple unity of Eurasian giants, we must take into account other existing and potential participants that could transform this triangle to other multifaceted figures. For example, Iran. The creation of continental union of traditional civilizations Russia-India-China-Iran (RICI) became an effective asymmetrical response to the American globalism challenge. we must note that adding Iran to this continental union will open up major opportunities for orthodox, Hindu, Confucian and Muslim civilizations to cooperate. Including India in SCO in 2015 affected the geopolitical configuration in south Eurasia. Consequently India both strengthen economical and political cooperation with Russia and China and opened up additional opportunities in cooperation with the countries of Central Asia. New-Delhi is reasonably interested in this region because of the power resources of the region on the first place. But its not about the hydrocarbons only.

There is an indicative supply contract of 5000 tons of uranium from Kazakhstan and 500 tons of uranium from Uzbekistan to India. The geostrategic position of the region is as important. India is really interested in Central Asian countries participating in the North-South transport corridor project and pipeline routes.

Establishing of the Moscow-Beijing-Delhi strategic triangle is an attractive and promising geopolitical project, developed by the SCO and BRICS activity. And we must note that this Primakov idea becomes very actual because of the international disorder, backed by the world economic crisis in 2014 and the US and western Europe policy towards Russia and China in 2015-2018.

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

Putin, Berdimuhamedov hold telephone talk
13.05.2020 14:27
SCO Secretary-General meets with President of MODUL University Vienna
12.03.2020 11:51
Erdogan Neglects Relationship With China Pursuing His Own Interests
10.03.2020 16:26
India Attends SCO Working Group on Military Cooperation in Pakistan
25.02.2020 15:12
Tajik Foreign Minister arrives in Moscow on official visit
25.02.2020 14:22
Iran, Russia review bilateral cooperation in SCO
25.02.2020 13:59
Only 100,000 People Expected on Trumps Visit Not 7 Million
20.02.2020 16:47
India Not to Revoke Special Status of Northeastern States Bordering China - Home Minister
20.02.2020 16:42
Secretary General of Shanghai Cooperation Organization meets with President of Azerbaijan
14.02.2020 14:29
China-Russia ties to deepen despite US wedge
24.01.2020 11:49

Comments(0)

.