Akimbek Sultanov, Kyrgyzstan Interaction in SCO is one of Kyrgyzstan's foreign political priorities / SCO Shanghai Cooperation Organization

The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
06:02Astana
06:02Bishkek
05:32Delhi
08:02Beijing
04:02Moscow
05:02Islamabad
05:02Dushanbe
05:02Tashkent
Observer States:
04:32Tehran
03:02Minsk
08:02Ulan-Bator
04:32Kabul
Партнеры по диалогу::
04:32Yerevan
05:32Katmandu
03:02Ankara
07:02Phnom Penh
05:32Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte

SCO Currencies/Ruble

 
 
Country Code Currency Den. Rate
 
 

The official rate of the Central Bank of Russia

News

28.10.2020 17:45
SCO Secretary-General attends SCO Plus inter-party forum
27.10.2020 16:16
SCO Secretary-General attends high-level forum at 27th China Yangling Agricultural Hi-Tech Fair
20.10.2020 11:36
SCO Secretariat presents series of cultural and sports events for 2020-2021
19.10.2020 13:32
Chinese Ambassador Urges Canada Not to Grant Asylum to Hong Kong Protesters
15.10.2020 18:12
STATEMENT by the Observer Mission of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation on monitoring the preparations for and holding of the presidential election
09.10.2020 14:34
Statement by the Secretary-General of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation Vladimir Norov on the situation in the Kyrgyz Republic
07.10.2020 17:45
Statement by the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation’s Observer Mission on monitoring the preparations for and holding of elections to the Jogorku Kenes
07.10.2020 17:01
Britain Must Take 'Hard-Headed' Approach to China as Beijing to Rise in Global Economy - Rishi Sunak
07.10.2020 12:04
Carrie Lam Says Hong Kong Nat'l Security Law 'Restored Stability', Slams Western 'Double Standards'
31.08.2020 16:51
About the upcoming webinar: "India - SCO Engagement: The Next Steps"
 
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      
Russia's Presidency in SCO SCO Secretariat SCO Business Council The Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure Of SCO SCO Interbank Consortium Expocenter
Interaction in SCO is one of Kyrgyzstan's foreign political priorities
19.04.2019 16:19 Akimbek Sultanov, Kyrgyzstan

The SCO membership is important for Kyrgyzstan. Revealingly, all ruling administrations in Kyrgyzstan have kept continuity of the policy of developing the SCO. For example, the first president of Kyrgyzstan, Askar Akayev, was one of the organization's founders. In 2016, the former president published a report titled "The expansion and strengthening of the SCO together with the restoration of the Great Silk Road is a road to creating solid security system and fruitful cooperation in Eurasia." In this report, Akayev analyzed the organization's activity and made a conclusion that the SCO is becoming the main force center in Eurasia.

The second president of Kyrgyzstan, Kurmanbek Bakiyev, believes that the creation of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization "without any exaggeration can be treated as a key international event in the early 21st century not only of the regional but also the global scale."

The third president of Kyrgyzstan, Almazbek Atambayev, also highly valued the SCO role. He said that the SCO "is one of the priority areas of Kyrgyzstan's foreign policy." He many times noted that it was Kyrgyzstan's idea to create the SCO Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure.

Atambayev proposed creating the SCO bank with the office in Bishkek at the Astana summit in 2017. The proposal to expand the economic part of the organization's activity has been voiced by Kyrgyz leaders increasingly more often. For example, incumbent president Sooronbai Jeenbekov believes that the organization needs "to put a special emphasis on the economic element, to implement priority investment projects, to promote the creation of the Development Bank and the Development Fund of the SCO, and to create favorable conditions for international automobile transportation."

Kyrgyzstan currently presides in the SCO Council of Heads of State. The plan for the next four years is to enhance trade and to actively develop other economic spheres. The president said that Kyrgyzstan is interested in the soonest possible launch of the China-Kyrgyzstan-Uzbekistan railroad project that would "considerably increase transit and export potential of SCO member states."

"Along with this, the important task is to develop interaction of SCO member states in fight against terrorism, separatism and extremism, illegal drug trafficking and transborder organized crime, as well as the further strengthening of confidence measures in border districts," the president said.

There is broad consensus regarding the SCO in Kyrgyzstan's society, where there is a high level of freedom of speech. Thanks to this consensus the American military base that had been deployed there after the September 11 terrorist attack in the USA and the beginning of the antiterrorist campaign in Afghanistan was expelled from Kyrgyzstan. However, the authorities of the Kyrgyz Republic preferred to close the American base after the rent agreement expired. Naturally, the expulsion of the base was on the one hand a sign to the allies in the CIS and the SCO. On the other hand, this was the conscious choice of the future. Kyrgyzstan has chosen well-tested partners in the region and the path of stable development.

 

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

SCO Secretariat presents series of cultural and sports events for 2020-2021
20.10.2020 11:36
Chinese Ambassador Urges Canada Not to Grant Asylum to Hong Kong Protesters
19.10.2020 13:32
STATEMENT by the Observer Mission of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation on monitoring the preparations for and holding of the presidential election
15.10.2020 18:12
Statement by the Secretary-General of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation Vladimir Norov on the situation in the Kyrgyz Republic
09.10.2020 14:34
Statement by the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation’s Observer Mission on monitoring the preparations for and holding of elections to the Jogorku Kenes
07.10.2020 17:45
About the upcoming webinar: "India - SCO Engagement: The Next Steps"
31.08.2020 16:51
Chinese Military Says Participation in Army Games to Boost Partnership With Russia
28.08.2020 14:45
National Day of the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan: The SCO Secretary-General Vladimir Norov extend well wishes to the President of Afghanistan Ashra
24.08.2020 17:45
About the upcoming webinar: Digital Transformation of Education in the New Normal: Vision & Key Practices from Weidong
24.08.2020 17:39
SCO Secretariat and Pakistani Centre for Global & Strategic Studies hold a webinar
22.07.2020 16:18

Comments(0)

Сообщите об орфографической ошибке

Сообщить
Выделенный текст слишком длинный.