Maksim Krasovsky SCO Forum: preparing for the next summit / SCO Shanghai Cooperation Organization

The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
04:01Astana
04:01Bishkek
03:31Delhi
06:01Beijing
02:01Moscow
03:01Islamabad
03:01Dushanbe
03:01Tashkent
Observer States:
02:31Tehran
01:01Minsk
06:01Ulan-Bator
02:31Kabul
Партнеры по диалогу::
02:31Yerevan
03:31Katmandu
01:01Ankara
05:01Phnom Penh
03:31Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte

SCO Currencies/Ruble

 
 
Country Code Currency Den. Rate
 
 

The official rate of the Central Bank of Russia

News

20.10.2020 11:36
SCO Secretariat presents series of cultural and sports events for 2020-2021
19.10.2020 13:32
Chinese Ambassador Urges Canada Not to Grant Asylum to Hong Kong Protesters
15.10.2020 18:12
STATEMENT by the Observer Mission of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation on monitoring the preparations for and holding of the presidential election
09.10.2020 14:34
Statement by the Secretary-General of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation Vladimir Norov on the situation in the Kyrgyz Republic
07.10.2020 17:45
Statement by the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation’s Observer Mission on monitoring the preparations for and holding of elections to the Jogorku Kenes
07.10.2020 17:01
Britain Must Take 'Hard-Headed' Approach to China as Beijing to Rise in Global Economy - Rishi Sunak
07.10.2020 12:04
Carrie Lam Says Hong Kong Nat'l Security Law 'Restored Stability', Slams Western 'Double Standards'
31.08.2020 16:51
About the upcoming webinar: "India - SCO Engagement: The Next Steps"
28.08.2020 14:48
Belarusian President Lukashenko Vows to Retaliate Against Any Possible Sanctions
28.08.2020 14:45
Chinese Military Says Participation in Army Games to Boost Partnership With Russia
 
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 
             
Russia's Presidency in SCO SCO Secretariat SCO Business Council The Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure Of SCO SCO Interbank Consortium Expocenter
SCO Forum: preparing for the next summit
04.06.2019 15:58 Maksim Krasovsky

On April 17-18, 2019, Beijing hosted the 14th meeting of the SCO Forum, which brought together over 50 experts, including heads of National Research Centers of SCO member states.

The discussions were lively; the participants were straightforward, constructive and sometimes critical, speaking about the key issues of the organization’s existence, its development plans, new joint projects, the situation in the SCO region, and steps needed to further stabilize it.

The international situation remains complicated, with instability sustaining, and new regional hot spots and new threats to security, such as terrorism and extremism, emerging, they said during the debates. Yet despite these new difficulties, the SCO has a substantial potential for timely responding to such problems and resolving them.

The Forum’s participants spoke in favor of furthering political coordination, more active support to regional peace and stability, and implementation of the SCO Cooperation Program for countering terrorism, separatism and extremism.

The experts proposed to enhance cooperation in the area of security, improve work of law-enforcement structures, and intensify joint efforts against illegal drug trafficking. They took note of Tajikistan’s proposal to set up an SCO Anti-Drug Center in Dushanbe.

Since there had been new cases of unilateral economic actions and measures of trade protectionism, the participants stressed the need to reinforce multilateral economic and trade cooperation, and promote trade liberalization. They also voiced support for various multilateral integration projects of the SCO.

They agreed to expand cooperation on hydropower projects designed to meet the needs of the entire region, and to further humanitarian exchange and contacts in the areas of culture, education, tourism and mass media.

Participants of the event expressed serious concern about the current situation in Afghanistan, the threat of terrorism, illegal drug trafficking and organized trans-border crime in the region. They spoke of their support to the SCO-Afghanistan contact group and the need to promote a political settlement in Afghanistan, bearing in mind that peace and stability in that country were essential for ensuring the entire region’s security and stable economic development.

Vladimir Norov, SCO Secretary General, said at the Forum that the Organization was consistently expanding multilateral cooperation in the areas of politics, security, economics, and cultural and humanitarian exchange, and the recent accession of India and Pakistan and the desire of many other states to join the Organization testified to its growing authority in the world.

As part of preparation for the next SCO summit in Bishkek, the results of the discussion were used to structure and summarize specific proposals on deepening and developing multilateral cooperation within the Organization.

 

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

SCO Secretariat presents series of cultural and sports events for 2020-2021
20.10.2020 11:36
Chinese Ambassador Urges Canada Not to Grant Asylum to Hong Kong Protesters
19.10.2020 13:32
STATEMENT by the Observer Mission of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation on monitoring the preparations for and holding of the presidential election
15.10.2020 18:12
Statement by the Secretary-General of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation Vladimir Norov on the situation in the Kyrgyz Republic
09.10.2020 14:34
Statement by the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation’s Observer Mission on monitoring the preparations for and holding of elections to the Jogorku Kenes
07.10.2020 17:45
About the upcoming webinar: "India - SCO Engagement: The Next Steps"
31.08.2020 16:51
Chinese Military Says Participation in Army Games to Boost Partnership With Russia
28.08.2020 14:45
National Day of the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan: The SCO Secretary-General Vladimir Norov extend well wishes to the President of Afghanistan Ashra
24.08.2020 17:45
About the upcoming webinar: Digital Transformation of Education in the New Normal: Vision & Key Practices from Weidong
24.08.2020 17:39
SCO Secretariat and Pakistani Centre for Global & Strategic Studies hold a webinar
22.07.2020 16:18

Comments(0)

Сообщите об орфографической ошибке

Сообщить
Выделенный текст слишком длинный.