The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
06:17Astana
06:17Bishkek
05:47Delhi
08:17Beijing
04:17Moscow
05:17Islamabad
05:17Dushanbe
05:17Tashkent
Observer States:
04:47Tehran
03:17Minsk
08:17Ulan-Bator
04:47Kabul
Партнеры по диалогу::
04:47Yerevan
05:47Katmandu
03:17Ankara
07:17Phnom Penh
05:47Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte
SCO observers recognize parliamentary elections in Azerbaijan as legitimate, transparent
10.02.2020 16:26

The mission of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) recognizes the parliamentary elections in Azerbaijan as legitimate, transparent and credible, head of the mission, SCO Deputy Secretary-General Sherali Saidamir Jonon said a press conference following the elections, Trend reports.

"Ultraviolet detectors were used to check for the presence of invisible paint, which was applied to the voters' fingers before voting at the polling stations. The website of Azerbaijan's Central Election Commission (CEC), as well as its information centers, published information on the addresses of polling stations, members of commissions etc. Election commissions were provided with ballots, printed and other necessary materials. The CEC also provided foreign observers with memos with useful monitoring information, as well as a brochure on voting rules," Sherali Jonon said.

As Sherali Jonon noted that inviting international observers ensures openness, transparency and democratic parliamentary elections.

"The SCO mission conducted observations in the cities of Baku, the settlements of Absheron, Ganja, Sumgayit, Shirvan, as well as in the territories adjacent to them. Members of the SCO mission visited more than 204 polling stations on election day. The mission positively assesses the large-scale work done by CEC of Azerbaijan. The activities of the CEC were open, transparent and independent. The SCO mission states that the parliamentary elections were consistent with the country's mandatory laws, as well as international laws adopted by the country, and recognizes the parliamentary elections in Azerbaijan as legitimate, transparent, credible and democratic. The mission congratulates the people of Azerbaijan on the elections for Azerbaijani Parliament, and wishes the Azerbaijani people success," Sherali Jonon added.

The parliamentary elections of the sixth convocation were held in Azerbaijan on Feb. 9. Some 1,314 candidates were registered within the early parliamentary elections.

The candidacies of 246 people were nominated by 19 political parties, 1,057 were self-nominated, 11 - by initiative groups. Twenty-one percent accounted for female candidates while 79 percent – male candidates.

Throughout the day, 5,573 permanent polling stations operated in 125 constituencies of the country.

Some 883 international observers and 77,790 local observers monitored the voting process. Among the local observers, 35,152 were representatives of political parties. International observers represented 58 countries and 59 organizations.

Exit polls were conducted by AJF & Associates Inc. (US) jointly with Citizens' Labor Rights Protection League, the Rey Monitoring Center, and the French OpinionWay Research Institute together with the “Human Rights in the XXI Century – Azerbaijan” Foundation.

Source: https://www.azernews.az/nation/161607.html

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

SCO Council of National Coordinators approves package of documents for upcoming SCO Heads of Government Council meeting
01.12.2020 16:56
SCO Secretary-General meets with Ambassador of Pakistan to China
18.11.2020 17:52
The Moscow Declaration of the Council of Heads of State of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation
18.11.2020 17:18
SCO Secretary-General's press conference on the results of the SCO Summit
18.11.2020 17:07
Summit to define SCO's postpandemic era
11.11.2020 14:39
The press conference of the SCO Secretary-General
11.11.2020 14:13
SCO Secretariat presents series of cultural and sports events for 2020-2021
20.10.2020 11:36
Chinese Ambassador Urges Canada Not to Grant Asylum to Hong Kong Protesters
19.10.2020 13:32
STATEMENT by the Observer Mission of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation on monitoring the preparations for and holding of the presidential election
15.10.2020 18:12
Statement by the Secretary-General of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation Vladimir Norov on the situation in the Kyrgyz Republic
09.10.2020 14:34

Comments(0)

Сообщите об орфографической ошибке

Сообщить
Выделенный текст слишком длинный.