The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
11:14Astana
11:14Bishkek
10:44Delhi
13:14Beijing
09:14Moscow
10:14Islamabad
10:14Dushanbe
10:14Tashkent
Observer States:
09:44Tehran
08:14Minsk
13:14Ulan-Bator
09:44Kabul
Партнеры по диалогу::
09:44Yerevan
10:44Katmandu
08:14Ankara
12:14Phnom Penh
10:44Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte
SCO Secretary-General met with President of International Narcotics Control Board
12.03.2020 15:16

On 6 March, SCO Secretary-General Vladimir Norov met with President of the International Narcotics Control Board (INCB) Cornelis de Joncheere on the sidelines of the 63rd session of the Commission on Narcotic Drugs.

Vladimir Norov updated his counterpart about the SCO's fight against illicit drugs, including the joint efforts of the member states within the framework of the three-tier mechanism for conferences of the heads of the concerned agencies, the implementation of the SCO Anti-Drug Strategy for 2018-2023 and action plan, as well as the development of the SCO Secretariat's ties with the UN Office on Drugs and Crime and other international organisations. The SCO Secretary-General noted that the SCO has a special working group of experts on precursors and reminded his interlocutor about a meeting of the Paris Pact Initiative expert group held with the assistance of the SCO Secretariat in Shanghai in November 2019.

Cornelis de Joncheere pointed out that the INCB attaches great importance to its cooperation with the SCO member states. He spoke about the proliferation of synthetic drugs and the international system of monitoring this alarming process. The INCB President also called for monitoring not only the diversion of precursors but also the technical equipment used for their production.

The two officials also discussed the further development of relations between the SCO Secretariat and the INCB, including through the participation of their representatives in events related to combatting drugs.

They agreed to maintain working level contacts.

The International Narcotics Control Board (INCB) is a specialised UN body established in 1968 in accordance with the Single Convention on Narcotic Drugs. Its membership, powers and functions are laid down in the Single Convention on Narcotic Drugs (1961) and the Convention on Psychotropic Substances (1971).

The main functions of the INCB are as follows: to monitor licit activities involving drugs with a view to achieving a balance between supply and demand for medical and scientific uses; to prevent the illicit manufacture of, trafficking in and use of drugs; to assist governments in complying with their obligations under the international drug control treaties; to assist countries and regions in dealing with matters related to drug control and illicit manufacture of, trafficking in and use of drugs.

Source: eng.sectsco.org/news/20200307/639811.html

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

SCO Council of National Coordinators approves package of documents for upcoming SCO Heads of Government Council meeting
01.12.2020 16:56
SCO Secretary-General meets with Ambassador of Pakistan to China
18.11.2020 17:52
The Moscow Declaration of the Council of Heads of State of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation
18.11.2020 17:18
SCO Secretary-General's press conference on the results of the SCO Summit
18.11.2020 17:07
Summit to define SCO's postpandemic era
11.11.2020 14:39
The press conference of the SCO Secretary-General
11.11.2020 14:13
SCO Secretariat presents series of cultural and sports events for 2020-2021
20.10.2020 11:36
Chinese Ambassador Urges Canada Not to Grant Asylum to Hong Kong Protesters
19.10.2020 13:32
STATEMENT by the Observer Mission of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation on monitoring the preparations for and holding of the presidential election
15.10.2020 18:12
Statement by the Secretary-General of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation Vladimir Norov on the situation in the Kyrgyz Republic
09.10.2020 14:34

Comments(0)

Сообщите об орфографической ошибке

Сообщить
Выделенный текст слишком длинный.