The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
00:13Astana
00:13Bishkek
23:43Delhi
02:13Beijing
22:13Moscow
23:13Islamabad
23:13Dushanbe
23:13Tashkent
Observer States:
22:43Tehran
21:13Minsk
02:13Ulan-Bator
22:43Kabul
Партнеры по диалогу::
22:43Yerevan
23:43Katmandu
21:13Ankara
01:13Phnom Penh
23:43Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte

SCO Currencies/Ruble

 
 
Country Code Currency Den. Rate
 
 

The official rate of the Central Bank of Russia

News

28.10.2020 17:45
SCO Secretary-General attends SCO Plus inter-party forum
27.10.2020 16:16
SCO Secretary-General attends high-level forum at 27th China Yangling Agricultural Hi-Tech Fair
20.10.2020 11:36
SCO Secretariat presents series of cultural and sports events for 2020-2021
19.10.2020 13:32
Chinese Ambassador Urges Canada Not to Grant Asylum to Hong Kong Protesters
15.10.2020 18:12
STATEMENT by the Observer Mission of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation on monitoring the preparations for and holding of the presidential election
09.10.2020 14:34
Statement by the Secretary-General of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation Vladimir Norov on the situation in the Kyrgyz Republic
07.10.2020 17:45
Statement by the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation’s Observer Mission on monitoring the preparations for and holding of elections to the Jogorku Kenes
07.10.2020 17:01
Britain Must Take 'Hard-Headed' Approach to China as Beijing to Rise in Global Economy - Rishi Sunak
07.10.2020 12:04
Carrie Lam Says Hong Kong Nat'l Security Law 'Restored Stability', Slams Western 'Double Standards'
31.08.2020 16:51
About the upcoming webinar: "India - SCO Engagement: The Next Steps"
 
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 
             
SCO Secretary-General addresses a special event on the International Day against Drug Abuse and Illicit Trafficking
06.07.2020 13:03

On 26 June 2020 SCO Secretary-General Vladimir Norov attended a special event held by the UN Commission on Narcotic Drugs timed to coincide with International Day against Drug Abuse and Illicit Trafficking. The meeting was held via video conference.

Among the keynote speakers were Executive Director of the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime Ghada Fathi Waly, Austrian Foreign Minister Alexander Schallenberg, Deputy Director General of the Directorate-General Migration and Home Affairs at the European Commission Olivier Onidi, Executive Director of Europol Catherine De Bolle, European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction Director Alexis Goosdeel, Executive Secretary of the Inter-American Drug Abuse Control Commission Adam Namm, Commissioner for Social Affairs of the African Union Amira Elfadil as well as heads of diplomatic missions accredited in Vienna. Pakistan's Permanent Representative to the United Nations Office in Vienna Ambassador Mansoor Ahmad Khan, Acting Chair of UNCND moderated the event.

The SCO Secretary-General stressed that those changes that have affected the market of illicit narcotic drugs in conditions brought on by the coronavirus pandemic are the focus of the SCO member states' attention. Thus, a growing threat in the dark internet was timely identified and was discussed at a special event of the SCO and UNCND on the margins of the UNCND's 63th session.

A significant spike in demand for synthetic drugs has also been recorded. In this connection, Vladimir Norov said that the SCO gives special emphasis to carrying out joint preventive measures to neutralise new risks. Thus, following the Web, a SCO anti-narcotics operation in late March of this year, over three metric tonnes of narcotic drugs and psychotropic substances were seized.

The Secretary-General stressed new challenges related to the migration of drug trafficking to the south towards overseas transportation routes in the Indian Ocean. In this relation he underlined the potential for developing interaction between SCO and ASEAN anti-drug agencies.

Priority has been given to the joint operation of the SCO competent bodies on restraining drug trafficking from Afghanistan. In this context readiness was expressed for further collaboration with the Paris Pact initiative.

Vladimir Norov underscored the position of the SCO member states regarding the need to strictly comply with the three UN anti-drug conventions on the use of narcotic drugs and psychotropic substance exclusively to medical and scientific ends.

The 2020 World Drug Report and UNODC's research on COVID-19 pandemic's effect on the drug situation in certain regions of the world were also presented at the meeting.

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

SCO Secretary-General’s interview on the occasion of International Day Against Drug Abuse and Illicit Trafficking
07.07.2020 11:50
Pakistan Army Rejects Reports of Joint Border Patrols with Iran
09.12.2019 18:17
USA understand Afghan problems, but don’t wont to solve them
29.10.2018 16:07
Iran: holy war on afghan drugs
16.03.2012 12:43
"Drug addiction doesn’t recognize any religion"
16.05.2011 13:31
Statement of Russia’s, Afghanistan’s and Pakistan’s Foreign Ministers
01.07.2009 12:22
Results of the Meeting of the SCO Countries Security Councils Secretaries in Moscow
25.05.2009 09:36
The President of Russia Met with the SCO Countries Security Councils Secretaries
22.05.2009 12:06
Meeting of the Heads of the SCO Countries Counter-Narcotics Agencies Held in Moscow
20.05.2009 17:59
SCO Countries MIA Heads Meeting Took Place in Yekaterinburg
20.05.2009 09:09

Comments(0)

Сообщите об орфографической ошибке

Сообщить
Выделенный текст слишком длинный.