Negmatullo Mirsaidov, Tajikistan Central Asian countries intend to develop trade along New Silk Road / SCO Shanghai Cooperation Organization

The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
07:14Astana
07:14Bishkek
06:44Delhi
09:14Beijing
05:14Moscow
06:14Islamabad
06:14Dushanbe
06:14Tashkent
Observer States:
05:44Tehran
04:14Minsk
09:14Ulan-Bator
05:44Kabul
Партнеры по диалогу::
05:44Yerevan
06:44Katmandu
04:14Ankara
08:14Phnom Penh
06:44Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte

SCO Currencies/Ruble

 
 
Country Code Currency Den. Rate
 
 

The official rate of the Central Bank of Russia

News

22.07.2020 16:18
SCO Secretariat and Pakistani Centre for Global & Strategic Studies hold a webinar
22.07.2020 15:51
SCO Secretary-General takes part in a videoconference on SCO digital economy and e-commerce in COVID-19 environment
21.07.2020 10:58
SCO Secretary-General meets with Swiss ambassador to China
21.07.2020 10:55
Vladimir Norov: “China’s achievements in eliminating poverty have won high recognition from the world community.” Article by SCO Secretary-General for
16.07.2020 11:49
Upcoming webinar on the theme: "SCO: The way to Regional Cooperation and Integrated Development"
16.07.2020 11:44
Meeting of Experts on Preparations for the Meeting of Health Ministers of the SCO Member States
14.07.2020 09:48
Interview by the SCO Secretary-General on the fifth anniversary of the adoption of the SCO Development Strategy Towards 2025
07.07.2020 11:50
SCO Secretary-General’s interview on the occasion of International Day Against Drug Abuse and Illicit Trafficking
06.07.2020 13:03
SCO Secretary-General addresses a special event on the International Day against Drug Abuse and Illicit Trafficking
06.07.2020 13:00
SCO Secretary-General addresses OSCE Security Review Conference
 
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      
Central Asian countries intend to develop trade along New Silk Road
22.04.2019 12:22 Negmatullo Mirsaidov, Tajikistan

Specialists of the ministries of economy and of agriculture, agencies for standardization and metrology, and representatives of small and medium-size businesses of the four Central Asian countries, Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan and Kyrgyzstan, discussed in Bishkek the elaboration of joint position on quality standards and market condition of agriculture products for their further exports outside the region. They intend to more broadly use geographic, climatic, and intellectual potential of the region to produce competitive vegetables and fruits, as well as processed products. The meeting's participants discussed the strategy and joint action plan to promote and implement international standards.

It is known that Central Asian countries that are one of the main producers of organic dry fruits and vegetables are drawing attention of consumers not only in traditional markets but also in other countries of the world. However, agriculture cannot use the existing potential. One lacks a network of small and flexible plants, and there are problems related to the quality of products and their market condition. This in particular deals with dry fruits: apricots, prunes, compot mixtures of apples, pears, peaches, quinces and other fruits that are grown in the Fergana Valley and that one has now started to grow in other regions.

When building plants, businessmen don’t always pay attention to the quality management system and the introduction of common standards which allow them to successfully compete on global markets. They mainly need increasing their economic and financial knowledge so that to introduce UNECE standards.

"All fruit and vegetable producers in Uzbekistan, Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan and southern Kazakhstan have the same problems. They need a unified quality management system that complies with international standards in order to enter global markets. This requires that each plant from the very beginning starts planning this system the way that it ensures the production of high-quality products with good market condition. Specialists should help businessmen in this sphere. One is unable to do without them," one of the project's participants Shukhrat Kodirov (Tajikistan) told InfoSCO correspondent.

Local analysts believe that fruit and vegetable producers in Central Asian countries could use the current potential to significantly improve their positions on neighboring markets, primarily such big markets as Russia and China. Russia is a traditional agriculture market for producers from Uzbekistan, Tajikistan and Kyrgyzstan. Kazakhstan is both a producer and traditional consumer of fruits and vegetables.

Recently, Chinese businessmen have started to consider the option of importing dry fruits from Central Asia. For example, this year several Chinese companies signed many-year contracts on the delivery of dry apricots. Annually, in the beginning of spring, Russian companies sign agreements on the supply of fresh fruits and vegetables. If there are international certificates and good market condition, organic fruits with good taste produced in Central Asian countries could compete with any other similar products on the Russian market and hope for conquering the markets in Europe and other countries.

Another advantage of Central Asian countries is that the Fergana Valley, which is considered to be the main fruit and vegetable producing region, is on the intersection of international trade routes. And the region's participation in the One Belt, One Road project could unveil great prospects of developing trade along the New Silk Road transport corridors.

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

Mongolia’s Economy in 2016-2019: Opportunities and Challenges
26.04.2019 11:10
Window to Europe. Italy supports China’s One Belt, One Road initiative
22.04.2019 13:39
US, China in a tug of trade war: who is going to win?
22.04.2019 13:08
SCO countries paying increasing more attention to economic cooperation
19.04.2019 16:35
Erasing borders: Astana International Financial Center
19.04.2019 16:30
Erasing boundaries: Astana International Financial Center
11.03.2019 11:55
Tajikistan can become a transit country on «New Silk Road»
05.03.2019 12:06
The "Chinese Dream" fits into the interests of the Eurasian Economic Community
08.06.2018 16:11
Will the SCO become an instrument of economic security?
08.06.2018 15:54
SCO participates in Astana Economic Forum
18.06.2017 14:50

Comments(0)

Сообщите об орфографической ошибке

Сообщить
Выделенный текст слишком длинный.