The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
22:56Astana
22:56Bishkek
22:26Delhi
00:56Beijing
20:56Moscow
21:56Islamabad
21:56Dushanbe
21:56Tashkent
Observer States:
21:26Tehran
19:56Minsk
00:56Ulan-Bator
21:26Kabul
Партнеры по диалогу::
21:26Yerevan
22:26Katmandu
19:56Ankara
23:56Phnom Penh
22:26Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte

SCO Currencies/Ruble

 
 
Country Code Currency Den. Rate
 
 

The official rate of the Central Bank of Russia

News

22.07.2020 16:18
SCO Secretariat and Pakistani Centre for Global & Strategic Studies hold a webinar
22.07.2020 15:51
SCO Secretary-General takes part in a videoconference on SCO digital economy and e-commerce in COVID-19 environment
21.07.2020 10:58
SCO Secretary-General meets with Swiss ambassador to China
21.07.2020 10:55
Vladimir Norov: “China’s achievements in eliminating poverty have won high recognition from the world community.” Article by SCO Secretary-General for
16.07.2020 11:49
Upcoming webinar on the theme: "SCO: The way to Regional Cooperation and Integrated Development"
16.07.2020 11:44
Meeting of Experts on Preparations for the Meeting of Health Ministers of the SCO Member States
14.07.2020 09:48
Interview by the SCO Secretary-General on the fifth anniversary of the adoption of the SCO Development Strategy Towards 2025
07.07.2020 11:50
SCO Secretary-General’s interview on the occasion of International Day Against Drug Abuse and Illicit Trafficking
06.07.2020 13:03
SCO Secretary-General addresses a special event on the International Day against Drug Abuse and Illicit Trafficking
06.07.2020 13:00
SCO Secretary-General addresses OSCE Security Review Conference
 
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      
Russia's Presidency in SCO SCO Secretariat SCO Business Council The Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure Of SCO SCO Interbank Consortium Expocenter
China’s Foreign Minister Calls For Free Trade Deal With EU
17.12.2019 11:28

Chinese Foreign Minister Wang Yi is calling on the European Union to start working on creating a free trade agreement with China, amid growing investment interest and good economic cooperation.

Speaking at the "Sixty-Minute Briefing" event of the European Policy Center in Brussels on Monday, Wang Yi said that multilateralism and free trade are important for global development and peace.

"China and the EU should be partners for free trade. Apart from a high-quality investment agreement, we should work for an early start of negotiations on a free trade agreement, or at least the launch of feasibility studies on that front," the Chinese foreign minister said, as quoted by the Chinese Foreign Ministry in a Tuesday release.

Wang Yi pointed out that trade between China and the EU is growing and more European companies are expressing interest in investing in China.

"Even with rising trade friction between China and the US and mounting downward pressure on the global economy, economic and trade cooperation between China and the EU has bucked the trend and kept growing. In the first 11 months of this year, trade between China and the EU was estimated to grow by 7.7 per cent from last year. From January to July, EU investment in China was up by 18.3 per cent year on year. Sixty percent of EU companies regard China as a leading destination of investment," Wang Yi said.

He characterized 2019 as productive for China-EU relations and said that China regards Europe as an important cooperation partner and a priority on its diplomatic agenda.

"China and the EU should advocate and promote multilateralism and inject more positive energy to this world; facing the headwinds of protectionism, China and the EU should uphold free trade and make the world a more open place," Wang Yi said.

Multilateral Trade and the World Trade Organization

Wang Yi has also stressed the importance of multilateralism and free trade, saying that multilateral trading should be based on rules of the World Trade Organization (WTO).

"… China believes that multilateralism should have win-win cooperation as the goal, equity and justice as the tenet, and be action-oriented. It should aim to firmly uphold the international system centered on the United Nations, the international order based on international law, and the multilateral trading system underpinned by the WTO," Wang Yi said at the "Sixty-Minute Briefing" event of the European Policy Center on Monday, as quoted by the Chinese Foreign Ministry in a Tuesday release.

According to Wang Yi, the most recent trade deal signed by China and the United States became possible because of mutual respect. The Chinese foreign minister said that trade ties with the United States should follow WTO and market rules.

China has been experiencing major trade tensions with the United States, with US President Donald Trump having repeatedly pointed to what he calls unfair economic conditions and noncompetitive behavior from China.

Earlier this month, the United States and China announced that they had worked out a Phase One trade deal that is expected to be signed in early January, 2020. As part of the deal, the sides agreed not to introduce new duties that were planned to go into effect on 15 December.

White House Economic Adviser Larry Kudlow told reporters on Monday that the Phase One deal with China would boost American exports by $200 billion over the next two years.

Earlier this month, the appeal mechanism of the WTO was suspended, as the United States was blocking the appointment of new judges, necessary for the functioning of the appellate body, which has the final say on trade disputes, including between China and the United States.

Source: https://sputniknews.com

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

SCO may become key global development center — secretary general
28.11.2019 17:51
Euro-Asia Economic Forum to open in Xi'an
26.07.2017 11:55
Altay SCO forum – a unique ground for the young businessmen dialogue
07.11.2014 10:00
Why Ukraine wants to become SCO’s partner
08.10.2012 12:46
Russian Minister of Energy: we have a great potential in cooperation with China
03.09.2012 10:03
Gazprom will increase the search of hydrocarbon in Tajikistan
27.01.2012 17:49
Eurasian Union - a living reality of “utopian pipe dream”
13.01.2012 11:47
Renminbi to overthrow dollar from currency thrown
16.05.2011 10:00
SCO and EurAsEC: Positive Dynamics of Cooperation
18.03.2010 13:10
Delhi Believes that Afghanistan should Become a Commercial and Transportation Center of Asia
29.01.2010 10:15

Comments(0)

Сообщите об орфографической ошибке

Сообщить
Выделенный текст слишком длинный.