The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
04:55Astana
04:55Bishkek
04:25Delhi
06:55Beijing
02:55Moscow
03:55Islamabad
03:55Dushanbe
03:55Tashkent
Observer States:
03:25Tehran
01:55Minsk
06:55Ulan-Bator
03:25Kabul
::
03:25Yerevan
04:25Katmandu
01:55Ankara
05:55Phnom Penh
04:25Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte
Russia's Presidency in SCO SCO Secretariat SCO Business Council The Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure Of SCO SCO Interbank Consortium Expocenter
Russia China: strategic partnership in space exploration
02.02.2009 13:57
Andrey Kisliakov, scientific reviewer specially for InfoSCO

Russia and China determine their relationship as strategic partnership. And these are not just big words. They are also confirmed by concurrence of opinions of key foreign policy issues, as well as by economic, scientific and cultural cooperation day by day strengthening. This strategic partnership has also formed in the field of space exploration.

Peoples Republic of China has recently overcome a symbolic boundary in astronautics: number of its carrier rockets launches for the purpose of placing into orbit various payloads exceeded 100. The pace would seem slow: it took over 36 years, but it should be noted that half of all the launches was made within the last decade.

During this time China has created and deployed several space communication, investigation and navigation systems, placed into orbit meteorological satellites and a series of experimental and research space vehicles. Now it may surpass any space-faring nation in useful output per launch. Not to mention that China became the third country in the world after the USSR and the USA to launch a man into space.

Of course, it failed too, and little wonder, insofar as space-system engineering is concerned. Nine launches of 105 were conducive to accident; every fourth vehicle was delivered to non-nominal orbits. And yet 115 space vehicles were launched into orbits. By commercial orders there were 20 launches, and seven of them were accompanied by Asiasat and Apstar system vehicles, practically controlled by China. Another six Chinese satellites were thrown into orbit by foreign carrier rockets - mainly Russian ones.

It is no secret that the Chinese space programme has Russian roots. In due time Soviet specialists helped China to found its own space industry, prepare necessary scientific base and personnel. Particularly, the main Chinese Great march carrier rocket in effect is a modernized Soviet ballistic missile UR-200 developed by academician Vladimir Chelomei.

Today in China the whole fleet of new carriers is being developed, more powerful and flexible in use. They represent a set of integrated elements, similar to bricks, which will allow to build a rocket practically of any load class from heavy to light. By the way, the Russian Angara family carrier rockets are built on the same principle.

Chinese liquid-fuel rocket engines are generally based on the Russian principles of their construction. However, rocket engine-building achievements often result from individual works of Chinas scientists and specialists, many of whom graduated from Soviet institutions.

Legal base of Russias space technologies sale to China became an intergovernmental agreement of April 25, 1996. Since it was secret, Russian enterprises managers, making no concealment of the fact of work in progress jointly with China, refuse to detail anything. Though it is known, for example, that China has purchased from the Russian Energy rocket-space corporation a model of Soyuz ships descent module and equipment of automatic rendezvous and docking.

Long-term Chinese space programme is clearly stage-structured, not urgent and oriented to simple and possibly reliable technologies. Thus towards 2010 it is expected to establish a space laboratory, and towards 2015 a full-fledged orbital station should be constructed. In 2011 along with an automatic lunar vehicle launching to the Moon, a full-scale surface investigation will start from the artificial lunar satellite. In 2016 a circumlunar manned mission is planned, in 2020 astronauts landing to the lunar surface, in 2030 formation of inhabited Chinese scientific base on the Moon. And finally, a Martian manned mission: first flyby trajectory one, and then astronauts landing to the planets surface.

At present Russian and Chinese parties are actively examining possibilities of joint development and implementation of large projects, corresponding to mutual interests and tasks of both countries space programmes. 2007-2009 cooperation programme is being successfully implemented which was a follow-up of the previous three-year programme and includes 33 cooperation areas.

Here are some of them. Lunar programme provides for the Luna-Glob project joint works. The Fobos-Grunt Russian space vehicles flight scheduled for this year will permit to find out origin of primary planets. Project goal is to deliver to Earth soil sample from the martian satellite - Fobos. In so doing the Russian Zenit carrier rocket will launch into the martian orbit not only the Russian Fobos-Grunt, but also the Chinese Younguo-1.

The Chinese pure research satellite will work according to its individual programme for a year. Its main task consists of circummartian space exploration. Having examined the Younguo-1's data, China hopes to understand, how water disappeared from the martian surface.
  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

Russia Aims to Supply 6-16 Sukhoi SSJ100 Passenger Jets to Pakistan
12.12.2019 13:35
SCO Secretary-General meets with CTO Under-Secretary-General
21.09.2017 13:22
SCO Ambassadors Club at Great Silk Roads golden intersection
09.07.2017 10:52
Statement of the Secretariat of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization on the terrorist attack in Kabul
01.06.2017 14:17
New Silk Way: Yuzhnouralsky logistics center
26.09.2013 17:12
Conference of Ministers of Transport of the SCO Member States
11.11.2009 12:20
Experts Preparing the SCO Agreements on Automobile Transportation Facilitation
02.06.2009 09:23
The Working Group Session on the SCO Transit Potential Development was Held in Beijing
17.04.2009 12:43
Dmitry Mezentsev Went on a Working Trip to the SCO countries
30.03.2009 17:57
Sergey Lavrov: Russia and Afghanistan are Disposed to Develop Mutual Cooperation
18.03.2009 16:59

Comments(0)

.